Making it a habit

I just finished reading this book, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg. I’m always trying to improve myself. It’s like a hobby. I want to lose some weight. I want to eat better. I want to exercise more. This book explains how habits work and how you can change them. First you have to figure out what your motivation is. In the mornings, my motivation is a big cup of coffee with honey and half and half in it. Even if I want to stay in bed and sleep, the thought of a cup of coffee will prompt me to get out of bed before I’ve even fully awake. So for the past two days, I’ve inserted a new activity between the cue (“It’s morning! Time for coffee!”) and the reward (“Ahh! Coffee!”). Instead of reading my email or looking at online cartoons while the coffee perks I put a mat board on an easel and coat it with gesso. Then I feel like I’ve earned my coffee. At least, I’ve earned the first cup. If only I could figure out how to get the rest of the painting done before the second cup! Oh well. There must be something out there that I like as much as coffee. More research is needed.

Here’s a belly dancer on a magic carpet, skimming a sea of coffee, made just how I like it.

belly dancer on a flying carpet over a sea of coffee

Cafe Ole, detail, 14×11″ pastel on gessoed mat board, ©2014 Marie Marfia

belly dancer on a flying carpet over a sea of coffee

Cafe Ole, 14×11″ pastel on gessoed mat board, ©2014 Marie Marfia

2 comments

  1. OMG~!! Do I ever need to borrow that book!! Have just today started the South Beach diet and for a couple of weeks I’m going to be a mass of quivering indecision. My goal is drop 30 pounds by the last week of Oct. Pray for me!!

Don't just read there, write something!

