Pastels are forgiving

unlike myself. I can hold a grudge forever. 

This belly dancer on a flying carpet started out with a tambourine in her hand, but then I decided it didn’t scan very well, so I brushed it out and did it over. Pastels are flexible that way. I’d been reading in the last issue of the Pastel Journal about how way back when artists would start out with green in the underpainting for portraits. So I’ve been playing around with it and it’s fun. I’ve done portrait underpaintings with rusty reds and yellows before, but not green.

I was thinking about cloudy skies when I did this one. No name springs to mind. I uploaded some of the work in progress pictures, too.

after taking out the tambourine, changing the angle of her foot

after taking out the tambourine, changing the angle of her foot

detail. You can see the green underneath.

detail. You can see the green underneath.

that tambourine just isn't cutting it for me

that tambourine just isn’t cutting it for me

laying down more color

laying down more color

underpainting rubbed in with pipe insulation

underpainting rubbed in with pipe insulation

underpainting

underpainting

2 comments

Don't just read there, write something!

