It’s raining

which means that everything is leafing out and turning green. I picked out a piece of mat board at random today, which happened to be black, and after putting a coat of clear gesso on it, this is what I ended up drawing. I don’t usually have a clear idea about what’s going on the board before I start. First I put the background ripples in, then the carpet, then the belly dancer. I picked green because that’s what it looks like outside today, plus it’s gonna be St. Patrick’s Day soon. I like the dark mat board behind all the bright colors. The title is a reference to one of my favorite movies of all time, “Death at a Funeral.

glass painting on a door

Got the sky done behind her head. Now for the flesh tones…

pastel of a belly dancer on a flying carpet

“Everything’s So Effing Green” 14×11″ pastel on gessoed mat board, ©2014 Marie Marfia

pastel of a belly dancer on a flying carpet

“Everything’s So Effing Green” 14×11″ pastel on gessoed mat board, ©2014 Marie Marfia, detail

And on the door, I got the sky done behind my belly dancer’s head. I may go and fill in all the flesh colors today. I know what I want, just undecided about how to put them on there. I might add some colored glass beads to it, too.

2 comments

  1. Wow, how freaking cool is that turning out. Makes my arms ache just thinking about reaching up and filing all that space with paint. Looking good, darlin’.

    M

Don't just read there, write something!

